Discussion About Sourdough Bread

Well, I wasn’t gonna reply until I digested it all a bit, but your last comment is making me respond now. YAY for sourdough! I’ve been baking sourdough consistently for over 2 yrs now. Good ole cast iron dutch oven is what I use. And the family doesn’t want any other kind of bread now. I’m fine with that!!

2 Likes

Hey Kay,
Not to get off topic, (there’s likely a section for off topic discussions here) but just to reply to your sourdough comment, I’m a relative newbie to SD baking. Just got my starter bubbling good after about a week. Made some biscuits with the discard yesterday that turned out great.

Today is the first full bread load… wish me luck! LOL Nah, I’m not worried, it’ll be fine, but I’m sure I’ll learn more as I go etc.

Reason I’m baking it now is the health benefits. I’m asthmatic and I put myself on a anti-inflammatory diet which did more than all the corticosteriods and inhalers have over the last 10 years. My bread has been Dave’s killer similar to Ezekiel bread, but not only is sourdough better due to bioavailability of the nutrients but it cost me less than a dollar a loaf instead of $5+ for Dave’s or Ezekiel.

If you want to share your tips for baking SD, I’ll look for them in the general discussions or where ever they would be appropriate here. :slight_smile:

1 Like

One more quick off topic comment! LOL The biggest tip is don’t listen to all the people that over complicate it!! The “Bake with Jack” video’s are the best at keeping it simple. And yes, the health benefits alone are worth it.

2 Likes

Thank you @brandon for moving this over to a separate topic!! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks Brandon,

Well Kay, I guess I’ll elaborate on my first bread loaf. I see what you mean on the over complicating opinions online. I’ve read a ton and much of it differs from one cook to another.